NEBOSH Construction Certificate - Conversion

  • Who Attends

    The National General Certificate to Construction Certificate Conversion qualification is suitable for all those that have to manage the activities of contractors including; Managers, Supervisors, Designers and CDM Co-ordinators. It must be noted that this is a conversion course for all those that have previously completed the NEBOSH General Certificate within the past five years.

  • The Aim
  • Course Content

    Unit 2: NCC1 - Managing and Controlling Hazards in Construction Activities

    Element 1 - Construction Law and Management

    • CDM Regulations 2007.
    • Legal, moral and financial consequences of failing to manage health and safety within the industry.

    Element 2 - Construction Site - Hazards and Risk Control

    • Potential hazards and risks on site.
    • Measures needed for the movement of people on site and pedestrians.
    • Risks of violence and substance abuse on site.  

    Element 3 - Vehicle and Plant Movement - Hazards and Risk Control

    • Vehicle risk control measures.
    • Control measures to reduce work-related driving risks.

    Element 4 - Musculoskeletal Hazards and Risk Control

    • Control measures to prevent work-related upper limb and musculoskeletal disorders.
    • Risks from manual and mechanically operated load moving equipment and manual handling activities.

    Element 5 - Work Equipment - Hazards and Risk Control

    • Control measures and hazards for powered and non-powered hand-held tools.
    • Control measures and hazards for construction machinery and work equipment.

    Element 6 - Electrical Safety

    • Hazards and control measures needed when working with electrical systems or equipment.
    • Control measures needed when working near or underneath overhead power lines.

    Element 7 - Fire Safety

    • Risk assessments, fire detection and fire prevention.
    • Means of escape and evacuation of construction sites.

    Element 8 - Chemical and Biological Health Hazards and Risk Control

    • Assessing the risks of exposure to hazardous substances.
    • Requirements of handling and storing waste on a construction site.
    • Control measures for specific agents.

    Element 9 - Physical and Psychological Health - Hazards and Risk Control

    • Health effects from exposure to vibration, ionising and non-ionising radiation, noise and stress.

    Element 10 - Working at Height - Hazards and Risk Control

    • Hazards and control measures needed for working at heights.
    • Control measures necessary when working over or near water.

    Element 11 - Excavation Work and Confined Spaces  - Hazards and Risk Control

    • Hazards and control measures for excavation work.
    • Hazards and control measures for confined space working.

    Element 12 - Demolition and Deconstruction - Hazards and Risk Control

    • Hazards and control measures for demolition and deconstruction work.
    • Demolition/refurbishment method statements and surveys.

  • Knowledge

    After successfully completing this course, the delegate will have certifiable proof of their competence in accordance to the Construction (Design and Management) Regulations 2007.

  • Methods

    A high proportion of case studies, recognisable scenarios and discussion will be supplemented with practical work and classroom based tutorials. Candidates are assessed by a written examination and a practical assessment; the practical assessment is carried out in the delegate's own workplace.

  • Additional Info

    To be awarded the NEBOSH Construction Certificate, delegates must attend every module and successfully complete both elements of the NEBOSH examination.

    The NEBOSH Construction Certificate is recognised by the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH), as it meets all requirements for Technician Membership of IOSH (Tech IOSH) and also has associate membership with the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM).

    The NEBOSH Construction Certificate has been accredited by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA) at a Level 3, in accordance with the National Qualification Framework (NQF); this is comparable to the Council for Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment (CCEA) in Northern Ireland and the Department for Children, Education, Lifelong Learning and Skills (DCELLS) in Wales. This is also the equivalent to Level 6 in the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF), accredited by the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA). 

    Delegates should inform their trainer if they have any serious health issues, physical problems, special considerations or are taking any medication, which may create difficulties in undertaking elements of this training course.

  • Dates & Locations